2 people, 1 brief psychic encounter

24 Sep

We parked the car in a Santa Monica parking garage and walked hand in hand through the Promenade.
A strange fog ( most things about LA are still strange to me ) is blowing in from the ocean, cooling the air and giving a dreamy paralax to the trees and buildings and people.
We are talking about our psychic connection as a couple. Bridget and I effect each other in gross and subtle ways, angst breeds angst, joy induces joy.

We have a palpable power over one another. It feels natural, but it also seems amplified between us, especially by the fact that we recognize it. I think this is the case for couples who are close in spirit.

A path between palms. The sea and sand several hundred feet below.

A man on bench, looks homeless, but who knows. I pass him off and hope he doesn’t acknowledge me. He doesn’t.

He looks up at Bridget and says “Thank you.”
This strange, loaded kinda thank you, a weird happy, sad, knowing thank you.

She hands him her Starbucks cup that is filled with ice. He nods and we walk on.

“I knew he wanted my ice. I looked at him and knew what he wanted, then he said ‘thank you’ before I could give it to him.”

“You knew what he wanted and he knew you would give it to him…”

The whole interaction lasted less than 5 seconds, it has stayed with me for the last 15 hours.

4 Responses to “2 people, 1 brief psychic encounter”

  1. JoAnna September 24, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    Wow … strange. That sort of stuff happens with me and my husband too, though. It’s the relationship beyond the relationship. I think it’s just meant to be for some people.

  2. Hal Amen September 24, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    Nice moment, well told.

  3. Sarah September 24, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    Wow. Only in L.A?

    Great stuff, Josh. Thanks.

  4. Abbie October 4, 2009 at 3:01 am #

    What a really cool experience – thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

