To Dream

10 Nov

dream

To die, to sleep;
To sleep: perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub;
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come

~ Hamlet

Lately I have had a very active dream life. In the past I have had very prophetic, lucid and intense dream experiences. I would like to share with you one of the most personal and dramatic dream experiences I have ever had. Very soon after my father passed away after a long and dreadful battle with cancer I lay down to sleep with a photograph of him clasp to my chest. I meditated on him and his existence intensely. My aim was to meet in the dream realm. It worked.

One moment I was saying his name over and over again…the next I am walking up the stairs towards my parents room. The carpet whispered beneath my feet. I pushed the door open and there my father was, sitting up in his bed. He turned to me and looked with understanding eyes.
It was terrifying. The perception that this was not a dream but that I was moved into a different time or place was undeniable. The look in his eyes was alive, human, knowing and scared.
In my dream I shut my eyes and I woke up. My heart rabbit fucked my brain.
I have never tried anything like that again. Whether I met my father on another plane, experienced a moment in the past or dove into the depths of my psyche, it was one of the most intense experiences of my life.

Have you ever had a lucid dream?

WHAT IS A LUCID DREAM?

A lucid dream is a dream in which the sleeper is aware that he or she is dreaming. There are different ways that a person can come to dream lucidly through intention and by accident.

Have you ever experienced astral projection?

WHAT IS ASTRAL PROJECTION?

Astral projection is an esoteric interpretation of any form of out-of-body experience that assumes the existence of an “astral body” separate from the physical body and capable of travelling outside it.

What is your dream life like? Please share notable dreams or dream experiences in the comments.

One Response to “To Dream”

  1. XtremXpert November 14, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    After reading this post I made my first research about dreams.
    I have a very active dream life, if I’m not ‘prematurely awakened’ I can remember every time parts or the whole dream.
    I don’t remember having an astral projection but I’m lucid dreaming most of the time. I’m aware I’m dreaming and I like to participate in my dream (chose what to do). Sometime in the morning I hear my sister or my mom talking (80% dreaming 20% awake) but I focus on my dream and it continues.
    I also think adrenaline is doing ‘his thing’ while I’m dreaming. Few years back I used to dream like every night that people want to catch me (just to talk or to hurt me) but every time, I was waiting for that person to get as close to me as possible (feel my heart beating faster) and then I was just start waving my hands like a bird and keep flying over buildings, trees and so on (I liked those dreams and few months back I tried to have one of them again by thinking of it and I succeed).
    Another ‘thing’ I like to do in dreams is jumping through windows (I really want to do that in reality sometime). Either I’m in a building and want to go out faster; in a ‘running car/train’ or running from someone I keep doing that in most of my dreams.

Leave a Reply

