What I am Reading…

21 Nov


I am reading 2 books. Incidentally they clock in at over 900 pages each, making it a back-breaking labor to tote them to the cafes…

“THE SOCIAL MEDIA BIBLE: Tactics, Tools and Strategies for Business Success”
by Lon Safko and David K. Brake

“Shantaram”
by Gregory David Roberts

Something Practical and informative and something engrossing, both highly recommended to me and applicable to my pursuits…

WHAT ARE YOU READING?

11 Responses to “What I am Reading…”

  1. Abbie November 22, 2009 at 5:08 am #

    I’ve been thinking about checking out a social media book – there’s so much that I don’t know about and don’t take advantage of… but I have 4 books on hold at the library that I have to pick up and look at first, and I don’t even remember what they are – it’ll be a surprise when I pick them up 🙂

    • joshywashington November 23, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

      There certainly is a lot to learn! The Social Media Bible assumes you now nothing and moves from there. So i skip around, skip whole chapters and take copious notes on some chapters…

      • Abbie November 24, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

        I looked at the Social Media Bible today at the bookstore, it’s no joke. I picked up The New Community Rules by Tamar Weinberg… I’ll let you know what I think!

      • Tamar Weinberg November 25, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

        Abbie, I’ll want to know what you think too! 🙂 Keep us posted!

  2. JoAnna November 22, 2009 at 6:38 pm #

    The stack of books I’m tackling is so high its ridiculous … and impossible to list here. One of my goals is to finish all of my half-read books and magazines before the end of the year so I can start over fresh with the new year.

  3. angryredhead November 23, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

    Margaret Atwood’s “Life Before Man”, published in 1979 apparently. That woman is like, 2000 YEARS OLD.

    • joshywashington November 23, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

      How is the book? I have never read any Atwood…

      • angryredhead November 27, 2009 at 5:13 am #

        Good, a little depressing though. I recommend you try “Cat’s Eye” and “Oryx and Crake”…two different extremes, you’re bound to like one! (maybe)

  4. Marie November 24, 2009 at 3:26 am #

    Shantaram is one of my all-time favourite books, but I had to start reading it three times before I finished it because of an intercountry move and some other stuff that happened to interrupt my reading life. I also read a bunch of other books during the time I was reading Shantaram. It became a regular thing to carry like a cellphone, wallet, or notebook. Although it weighs about a hundred kilos and takes up most of the space in my bag, I really missed it when it was gone. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    • joshywashington November 24, 2009 at 5:16 am #

      Shantaram was passed along to me by a friend who loved it dearly. I am about 100 pages in, but i was taken with the book in the first sentence. I can see why it has such a devote following…

  5. Mike Surber December 1, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    I’m dipped into 2 books right now as well! The first is “Stuff White People Like” by Christian Lander. Hilarious. The second is Paulo Coelho’s “The Alchemist”. I think I’m getting a pretty balanced diet between the two. I’m stoked to get into the Social Media Bible soon though!

Leave a Reply

