I am developing a new system…

5 Dec


…or at least trying.
You see, I am a freelance ninja, I work from home, on my own hours, under my own direction. Sure, I have clients and folks that are expecting results from me, but I am my own boss. King Josh, king of Josh’s rather, as long as those Josh’s are me…
This is awesome cause I am a pretty good boss.
I realize the value of sleeping in and that real work gets done at 4am.
But I am trying to develop a system.
I system by which i can operate my many tasks and projects as a well greased machine.
But I need your help…

WHAT IS YOUR SYSTEM?
Do you make lists?
Schedule work hours?
Delay rewards?
How much do you work a day?
What times?
What else do you do to feel balanced and not just just hunch over computers 27/4?

6 Responses to “I am developing a new system…”

  1. JoAnna December 5, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    I am a list queen, but I make lists every day of what has to get done and what I’d like to get done. If I get to the second list, I feel like it’s been a good day.

    It would be so easy to work all the time, but I’ve had to make an effort not to. I get up at 7:00, work out, then start on the day. I take a lunch break at noon, fit in a walk between 3:00 and 4:00, work until dinner. After dinner, I work to finish up final details, only until 7:30ish or so. Then I chill with the hubby and pets, read a bit before bed, and shut off the lights around 10:00. I try to work a bit less on the weekends, but I’m not always successful at that.

    Yep. Working for myself is hard and time-consuming, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  2. Abbie December 5, 2009 at 7:21 pm #

    I have been contemplating this same topic, since I’m trying to balance a full-time job (teaching) with launching a freelancing career… I need to start lists or a schedule or something…

  3. mikesurber December 7, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    I started extreme then found some balance:

    First came scheduling out each day to the minute. That worked for about 45 minutes. You know; creative work requires certain doors to be open, and sometimes we don’t know why they’re closed, but they just are and won’t open til after we microwave our cold coffee, or find the right album to listen to, or …enjoy some kind of release.

    But we know what needs to be done and we have deadlines. So I found that making a list for the whole week then committing to certain “office” hours keeps my fritters frosted (I’ve been doing well with 11 – 7 now that it gets dark out earlier. I can sleep in a little but still catch the rest of the “real world” on their schedule).

    And of course, you’re your own boss. So give yourself a rigid schedule and amount of work-hours… then call in sick. 🙂

  4. geotraveler December 8, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    Definitely a list maker (my weapon of choice – Microsoft OneNote). Still trying to nail down a daily routine though to work in the right amount of work/life balance.

    • joshywashington December 8, 2009 at 6:30 am #

      I have never used OneNote…but I did consult, script and act for this animation for Iheartonenote.com

      • Lola December 8, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

        Hahahahahaha. That is fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

