Being Broke = Better Shape & Healthier Eating ( I am loving cooking)

13 Jan

My favorite idiom for being broke is

Tryin to make a dollar outta fifteen cents!

I am pinching the pennies pretty hard these days, tightening the old belt while I look for work and plot my empire, but I tell you what… I have lost 10 pounds in the last month and a half! Ever since Thanksgiving, which marked the height of engorged calorie intake at the constant bequest of family, I have steadily lost weight.

Instead of hitting the happy hour 3-4 times a week we have gone 3-4 weeks without hitting the happy hour. Beer is out of the budget, and so is anything greasy that sells in bars, so we have been focussing on the basics, cooking for ourselves and eating at home.

I have been killing the oatmeal most mornings (110 servings for 10bucks!) and Bridget makes homemade bread and vats of tasty soup. I feels good to shop then chop and simmer and stir. It feels good to cook together, to visit the market or run out for one last minute ingredient. I read somewhere that the average meal for the average American takes 5 minutes to prepare. And prepare could be discarding packaging and microwaving… but I have noticed in our kitchen that the longer food takes to cook, the better it tastes, the slower you eat it and the more thoughtful the conversation.
Cooking also lends a ritual and warmth to the sodden Seattle days that seem to stretch ad infinitum over the Puget Sound and into the gloom.

But doing the dishes fucking sucks

One Response to “Being Broke = Better Shape & Healthier Eating ( I am loving cooking)”

  1. musictravelwrite January 14, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    Yes! I love cooking so much, and it’s so funny how complex and difficult people make it out to be. It doesn’t take that long to make a good meal, and there’s something kind of therapeutic about it. I used to love eating out, but now if I go too many days without eating something I made, I feel junky and weird.

    Cleaning does blow, though.

Leave a Reply

