Are most Travel Writers OLD(er)?

5 Feb

My first thought walking into a Seattle travel bloggers meet up, several weeks ago, was that everybody looked, well OLD(er). Maybe I am used to the young energy at Matador Travel but I felt like a black sheep, fo sho.

Everybody was nice enough, and there were some youngish people peppered about, but I felt like I was at a PTA meeting or something. Then I realized that I felt like a black sheep because I was one. The travel demographic is dominated, except for rare occasion, by the retiring Baby Boomer demographic. They have the dough that pay for the ad and articles in the magazines. Roustabout backpackers and vagabond 20-Somethings don’t have the financial clout to really matter in the industry.

Right? (please, god, somebody prove me wrong here!)

Baby Boomer types : I like you, some of my best friends are Boomers!

So what’s my market, my niche, my demographic? Does it even matter??

Thank the good lord my new travel Pal Nick Vivion was in attendance! Here’s to you buddy!

SO WHATCHA THINK? ARE TRAVEL BLOGGERS / WRITERS OLD GEEZERS AND GRANNIES?

6 Responses to “Are most Travel Writers OLD(er)?”

  1. Abbie February 6, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    Maybe the younger bloggers are “too cool” to go to a meet-up? Will be interesting to see the crowd at TBEX in NYC – are you going???

    • joshywashington February 8, 2010 at 6:30 am #

      I have wanted to do a meet up in Seattle…maybe I should take those whims a little more seriously!??

      • geotraveler February 8, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

        You should do a Seattle meetup for sure. Michelle (Goods Associate Editor) just moved there as well

    • joshywashington February 8, 2010 at 6:32 am #

      I want to…I am hoping I can conspire to make it happen…

  2. geotraveler February 6, 2010 at 4:24 am #

    I think TBEX will definitely draw a wide spectrum of writers – from vagabonds to bloggers to older mag writers.

    Just think, a few years from now, younger writers would call us oldish 🙂

  3. Candice February 7, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Scary thought, Lola! Josh, come to TBEX.

Leave a Reply

