how to explain social media to your relatives

21 Aug

They don’t get, and you should just stop where you are, because they aren’t going to get it.

‘Why would anybody care about what I am doing all of the time? I am making humus, so what?’

You say, it’s not about the minutia of your existence but sharing in common experiences and connecting with niche groups around the world.

They call social media ‘The Facebook’.

‘Who cares if I am making humus?

How humus turned into a metaphor for social networking you don’t readily know, but maybe you can use it.

Well, people who love humus! That’s who! So you write a blog and include your favorite humus recipe and who knows, maybe somebody will use it and comment…

‘Who cares?’

You care. You care about the comments and people liking your humus. It’s not about who has the best humus, but rather it’s about that we all love humus, you see?

‘I will never tweet.’ They declare.

You don’t have to tweet. If fact it is probably better if you don’t.

HOW DO YOU EXPLAIN SOCIAL MEDIA REGULAR PEOPLE ?

2 Responses to “how to explain social media to your relatives”

  1. Melanie@TravelsWithTwo August 23, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    I’m cracking up right now! Your post almost perfectly mirrors the start of a conversation I had with seven of my relatives this past May — who all happen to be over 60. They stuck with me, though, and at the end of my (forgive me for saying it) Twitt-orial, I actually think they DID get it. Still, none of them will ever get on Twitter, and a year into his account, my 76 year-old dad still has no idea why he’s on Facebook.

    I’m left thinking that a “How to Use Twitter” article for AARP would be absolute genius…if it hasn’t already been written.

  2. janette September 10, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    you make lovely humus 🙂

Leave a Reply

